E-bike Shortlist / Guides / Is an Electric Dirt Bike Legally an E-Bike?

Is an Electric Dirt Bike Legally an E-Bike?

Manufacturer, retailer and public-agency sources · 2026-09-24 · no ratings, no road tests

Summary

Usually not. U.S. e-bike definitions cap the motor at 750 watts and require fully operable pedals, while the Surron Light Bee and the Talaria Sting R MX list 8,000 watts of peak output. Surron's own Japanese site lists the Light Bee as an electric motorcycle, and on Bureau of Land Management land anything beyond the e-bike limits is managed as an off-highway vehicle.

Put the spec sheet next to the definition

The BLM defines an e-bike as "a bicycle with a small electric motor of not more than 750 watts (one horsepower)" with "fully operable pedals," and its three classes stop assisting at 20 or 28 mph. Two electric dirt bikes show how far past that line they sit.

E-bike limit (BLM)Surron Light Bee (Japan site)Talaria Sting R MX
Motor output750 W maximum8 kW maximum4,000 W nominal, 8,000 W peak
Top speedAssist stops at 20 or 28 mph75 km/h (about 47 mph)Listed as both 75 and 85 km/h
BatteryNot specified60 V, 40 Ah60 V, 45 Ah (2,700 Wh)
WeightNot specified57 to 60 kg (about 126 to 132 lb)69 kg with battery (about 152 lb)

Surron's Japanese site groups the Light Bee under "E-Moto" and calls it an ultra-light electric motorcycle. Talaria markets the Sting R MX as "The R-Performance Electric Dirt Bike," tuned "to free ride in all terrain," and marks its figures as preliminary. Its page gives the top speed as 75 km/h in one place and 85 km/h in another.

The size and the handlebars can make these machines look like downhill mountain bikes in photos. Peak output more than ten times the e-bike limit decides the category, not the silhouette.

Where one can be ridden off-road

The BLM's e-bike rule "applies only to Class 1, 2 and 3 e-bikes." Everything else, including "e-bikes that provide assistance at speeds above 28 mph or wattage of greater than 750," the agency continues to manage as an off-highway vehicle under 43 CFR Part 8340. On BLM land, then, an electric dirt bike belongs on routes open to OHVs, and the BLM notes that e-bikes themselves are allowed "on all roads and trails open to OHV use." The designation of each route, and any local closures, still apply.

Calling the machine a "Class 4 e-bike" does not change any of this, because the BLM definition has no fourth class.

Road use is a separate model question

A road version, where one is offered, can be a different model with different limits. Talaria lists a Sting R L1E next to the MX, and its spec sheet gives a top speed of 45 km/h or 25 km/h "(Limited for EEC Regulation)," a European rule. Whether any version can be registered for the road in the United States depends on the state and on the paperwork that comes with that exact model, and the off-road MX spec sheet does not address it.

Sources

Data checked, sources, and what we did not test

Data checked: 2026-09-24. Figures and quotations were read on that date from the pages listed under Sources and can change without notice.

Sources: manufacturer, retailer and public-agency pages, listed above. No review sites, forums or retailer ratings were used.

What we did not test: ride quality, brake feel, real-world range, durability and customer service. We have not ridden these bikes and publish no ratings or rankings.

≡ Browse every bike and accessory we list
One filterable feed — prices and images from the retailer
→

More guides